My Luck Dragon


Jasmine or Jazzy as Henry calls her or Jess as Fey calls her, is my Luck dragon. Look at that face. Definitely full of never ending stories.

Mama Cas (Dodger) here beside me is a granny dog. Jazzy is very respectful towards her. But if Jazzy blocks the path, Dodger won’t go that way. It’s a funny arrangement. Jazzy leads the charge and on a good day Dodger will follow her out and follow her in when I clap my hands. Poor old girl sometimes just whines on the couch because it’s too much for her to handle.

I know the feeling. Sometimes getting up from the couch to call them in is more than I can handle. I just clap.

Jazzy hears me at once and comes in. Dodger may not always notice. She’s a bit blind and deaf, but she knows exactly what time it is. 4.30pm Is supper time. If I get carried away with a movie and my knitting, she will let me know . It’s ridiculously always minutes either way.

Dodger has been mostly okay this week on meds. I am hoping that we get to keep her after the meds are up. I have been giving her soft food with her meals and she’s eating everything again. So all prayers gratefully accepted. We shall have to see. We don’t want her to be in pain – I expect we will know.

My days revolve around this old dog. She looks at me with such deep eyes, like dark waters under the overhang of trees. I am sure she understands me. I tell her I love her and she blinks and convinces me she knows.

But I want a treat.

I give her one. I’m a push over.

Thank the good Lord, England is talking about other things. Damaged houses, a long ago flood. Houses uninhabitable. Don’t they have insurance? Don’t they have skilled repair people? It seems daft for a first world country, but after all said and done, no one wants to be a builder or a plumber or an electrician. Hard labour learning it all and it’s a bit like boot camp being an apprentice.

I would rather live in my beloved Africa. We also have a lack of apprentices. Time’s a coming that we too will struggle unless miracles and wonders occur after our next election. I pray so, but it’s going to have to be divinely inspired I think. The rampant reprobates are chomping at the bit.

Meanwhile, my grandchildren are coming tomorrow. I’m looking forward to them, but they become bored after a while.

This house in much smaller than their rambling home, built back in the day when we had space, and houses had wide passages and big bedrooms. They have a big garden and we have only a little bit of a space inside and out.

I’m probably going to have to watch Malcolm in the middle. I’m not going to frown. I’m going to look for the Light. I hope Missy draws me a picture.

I’ve no idea what we will have for lunch. Toasted sandwiches. Maybe I will get some cake.

The dogs are in fairyland. Not a snore or a dream to be heard. Silence. I even have space for my legs. Yay!

Church tomorrow evening. Henry will be back. That will be grand. Church. I haven’t been for a few Sundays for some good reason. I’ll write about that tomorrow. I think an adventure may be in my future. Still in Africa, but certainly in my future. But it’s on hold. One mission at a time.

Peace be with you all my lovelies. Love and Holy Light.

Leave a comment